I’m a Mrs!!

So sorry I haven’t posted anything in awhile! I was going a little crazy getting the final details organized for my wedding and getting back into the flow of every-day life and my cooking went from fun elaborate meals to mac & cheese and hot dogs haha.

I wanted to write a short post about my wedding, including the journey before and the day-of. Some iPhone pictures and tips are toward the bottom 🙂

The week before was pretty crazy… I had planned to work from home and train my new employee, while organizing the last details of the wedding at the same time. What ended up happening:

  • Monday: Work late at the office and get work 100% organized and ready to go for the week so I didn’t have too work much at home.
  • Tuesday: Errand-running in the morning and sleep…. I literally watched TV, ate popcorn, and slept most of the day haha.
  • Wednesday: Hang out with my fiancé’s parents and cram organizing the last of the decor 2 hours before bed (what I had planned to do all of Tuesday). Very stressful day!
  • Thursday: De-stressed with a mani-pedi while hanging out with my maid of honor and flatmate. After this, I felt pretty relaxed and ready for whatever happens. I found this to be the best mindset – it’s too late to change anything, so just relax and go with the flow! The day ended with a pretty quick rehearsal and delightful rehearsal dinner with both families and wedding party. I decided to go to bed early (around 9pm) while most of the family stayed up and partied the night away.

The day-of was relaxing and enjoyable, for the most part. I pushed myself to get into the mindset of “whatever happens, happens,” so I never freaked out about the little things. My girls and I had an excellent morning in our hotel room getting pampered by our beautician, while eating brie and drinking champagne (my girls are awesome!). We rushed a little to get out of the hotel so we could get to the venue in time to take family pictures – forgetting my veil in the process… My mom was awesome and immediately left to get the veil while my girls helped me put on my wedding dress. My photographer took some “glamour” and “preparation” shots while we waited. Overall my girls, family, friends, and even photographer were extremely helpful during the whole process. I admit I got a little “bridezilla” when we were running short on time and I wasn’t able to enjoy my cocktail hour… I’m still apologizing to my girls about that. So I highly suggest eating before taking pictures! It might make you bloated, but it will also make you a nicer person to be around 🙂

Overall, my wedding night was…

…busy…a little rushed at the beginning…at times chaotic…well, dinner wasn’t what I imagined…the cake was amazing and I want more!…the music got everyone on the dance floor…bartender was great…staff was amazing…spent good moments talking to friends and family…discovered real friendship…made new friends…cried during my dad’s speech…loved and laughed a lot…damn that was a good AMF!….

…perfect.

Andres Wedding

Photos are in development – I’ll attach a few when they’re ready. In the meantime, here is a photo from my Maid of Honor that I absolutely love 🙂

First Dance and Father Daughter Dance

TIPS

All the tips around the net are extremely helpful, so definitely do some research before your day-of. Here are a couple of mine:

  • Relax the morning before to get you in the mood, and make it last until the night of your wedding
  • Enjoy the moment! If you’re upset, you’ll remember the day as a disaster – however, if you keep positive and let the little things slide, you’ll be one happy bride and remember the day as the best one of your life.
  • Bring a pillow! If you’re staying in a hotel the night before like I did, there’s a good chance you’ll get a horrible pillow that causes your neck and shoulders to tighten up. You don’t want that during your wedding and the first days of your honeymoon!
  • Surround yourself with people you love, and who love you back. If someone is creating “drama” before the wedding (6 months or even a few days before), my suggestion is to “dump” them. Imagine having that drama on your wedding day when you’re already trying to suppress nerves and excitement! I know it’s hard, but you’ll enjoy your day to the fullest and ruin less friendships in the end.
  • EAT before your wedding. I got super “hangry” during my photo shoot because I wasn’t able to enjoy the appetizers during the cocktail hour. I’d highly suggest eating a lightweight but filling meal BEFORE you walk down the aisle.
  • Make a “Bride’s Emergency Kit” with eye drops, blister bandaids, bandaids, qtips, foundation for any coverup, tissues, fingernail clipper (for any nasty hangnail disasters), extra bobby pins for any hair malfunction, and hairspray for that stray hair that won’t stay.
  • Bring a change of shoes to change out of those gorgeous heels. I don’t think anyone even saw my heels, so when I changed to flats right after the ceremony, no one could tell! And I could continue to dance the night away without killing my feet.
  • Don’t go crazy with planning each little detail. I started going insane with this and critiquing everything, but finally gave up toward the end and kept with simpler ideas. I’m so glad I did! I was more relaxed and enjoyed the planning process. Also, during the wedding, I never even saw the centerpieces on the guest tables because by the time my new hubby and I sat down, the tables were full and things were already moved about already! So don’t worry – It’s only 1 or 2 pictures and most people don’t even remember your centerpieces a week later.
  • Add lighting! This is a small cost that goes a long way. My suggestion is to spend less on decorations and work with the lighting. We had uplighting, icicle lights on our sweetheart / head table, 9 candles around each centerpiece, icicle lights around the dancing area, and a monogram on the dance floor. Lighting goes a LONG way and you don’t have to figure out what to do with leftover decorations afterward.
2 thoughts on “I’m a Mrs!!

Leave a Reply

