Strawberry Avocado Kale Salad

This year, I decided to treat my parents to a Christmas Eve dinner. My mom is trying to eat healthy and my dad is watching his carbs, so I found this sweet and colorful recipe online to try on them. I served it with my Orange Roasted Chicken – mostly because my mom wanted to see how to cook in a Dutch Oven. Both turned out well and were hits for my parents, my grandmother, and uncle. I would definitely make this salad again!

Note that I adjusted the amount of kale since my family likes less dressing. 8 cups seemed perfect to serve five people as a side.

INGREDIENTS (Salad)

  • 8 cups baby kale (pre-washed)
  • 2 cups sliced strawberries
  • 1 ripe avocado, sliced

INGREDIENTS (Dressing)

  • 4 slices bacon (about 1 cup crumbled)
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon poppy seeds
  • salt & pepper, to taste

PREPARATION

STEP 1: Cook bacon until crisp. Remove from pan and drain bacon on paper towels. Crumble or cut into small pieces.

Strawberry Avocado Kale Salad

STEP 2: Cut strawberries into thin, bite-sized pieces. I recruited my grandma for this 🙂

Strawberry Avocado Kale Salad

STEP 3: For the dressing, whisk together mayonnaise, sugar, white vinegar, and poppy seeds.

Strawberry Avocado Kale Salad

STEP 4: Add bacon and whisk until mixed.

Strawberry Avocado Kale Salad

STEP 5: Place kale and strawberries in a large bowl. Drizzle dressing over the top and toss until evenly mixed.

Strawberry Avocado Kale Salad

STEP 6: Serve salad on plates. Add avocado to the top of the salad.

Strawberry Avocado Kale Salad

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Avocado Kale Salad

Leave a Reply

