Chicken Kiev

I built off this recipe I found on Pinterest, but I changed a lot of things based on what I had in the kitchen (and I didn’t really want butter filled chicken, though it would definitely be delicious). During the frying portion, I messed up and had the temperature too high… but even after setting off the fire alarm in my apartment, this chicken still tasted amazing. I look forward to trying this again with onions, basil, and maybe even try it out with butter.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Tablespoon chopped fresh parsley
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 mozzarella sticks (I used string cheese)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 Tablespoon water
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • Salt and black pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon cooking oil

PREPARATION

STEP 1: In a small bowl, combine parsley and garlic. Set aside.

Chicken Kiev

STEP 2: Cut mozzarella into 4 halves

Chicken Kiev

STEP 3: In shallow bowl, stir together egg and water. Place flower in another shallow bowl. Place bread crumbs in a third shallow bowl. Set aside.

Chicken Kiev

STEP 4: Pound chicken with flat side of meat mallet until it’s 1/8 inch thick. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Sprinkle with fourth of green onion mixture. Place mozzarella on end and roll up. Repeat with remaining chicken.

Chicken Kiev

STEP 5: Coat chicken rolls with flour, dip in egg mixture, then coat with bread crumbs (Coat ends well to seal in the butter). Place coated chicken to the side –

I did not do this. BAD ME! I skipped this part and just added each chicken roll to a hot pan while rolling the rest of the chicken, burning it pretty badly 😦

STEP 6: In large skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add chicken rolls, quickly searing each side until golden brown… Not black.. Lol

Chicken Kiev

Sear on medium heat and don’t be impatient to avoid this… 😦

STEP 7: Place rolls in 2-quart rectangular baking dish. Bake, uncovered, at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for 15-18 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink. Makes 4 servings.

Chicken Kiev

FEEDBACK

This was a pretty delicious meal, but I would not rush through it. I would also make sure you pound the chicken to 1/8 inch thick. The breasts were difficult to cut in half, therefore some pieces were 1/4-1/2 inch thick, making it difficult to roll. Even though I messed up, it still turned out and my guest enjoyed it with a side of steamed veges and a rice melody from Trader Joes.

Leave a Reply

