Dutch Oven Pulled Chicken

I know it probably doesn’t make too much sense to make this in my 2.25 qt Dutch oven when I have a giant crockpot sitting right next to me, but I’m really trying to experiment with my new Dutch oven and see what I can make in it. I figure if you can cook pulled chicken in a crockpot, why can’t you cook it in a Dutch oven? Especially since everything has turned out amazingly juicy and delicious so far! Here goes!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 chicken breast
  • 1 apple (sliced)
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • Pinch of salt & pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups BBQ sauce
  • 1 bottle beer

Dutch Oven Pulled Chicken

PREPARATION

STEP 1: Preheat oven to 300 degrees fahrenheit

STEP 2: Add oil and salt and pepper to bottom of Dutch oven. Lay chicken breasts on top of oil. Sprinkle salt and pepper on top of chicken.

STEP 3: Slice apple. Lay evenly on top of chicken.

Dutch Oven Pulled Chicken

STEP 4: Drizzle BBQ sauce and beer on top of chicken.

Dutch Oven Pulled Chicken

STEP 5: Bake for 3 hours at 300 degrees.

Dutch Oven Pulled Chicken

STEP 6: After 3 hours, remove chicken from pot and shred in a separate bowl with two forks. Serve on a burger bun with provolone cheese. Top with extra sauce if desired.

Dutch Oven Pulled Chicken

FEEDBACK

Using pumpkin ale makes the kitchen smell AMAZING! I only used this because I had it laying around in the fridge and being fall – why not?? I will be honest, I was bit worried that my Dutch oven was overfull, being as it’s only a 2.25 quart pot, but it ended up working out perfectly. Only a little “leakage.” This recipe turned out very well and my fiancé and I truly enjoyed it. If I make it again, I’ll probably use the crockpot, but it was a good experiment and tasted delicious!

Dutch Oven Pulled Chicken

Leave a Reply

