Dutch Oven Pesto Chicken Breast

A friend of mine got me an amazing deal on the most adorable dutch oven! It’s a cinderella white 2.5 qt pumpkin that I got yesterday. I wanted to continue with my chicken dinner challenge, but also really wanted to cook something in my new pumpkin, so I found this pesto chicken recipe. It turned out amazingly well, especially for my first-time-ever cooking in a dutch oven! I followed my friend’s advice of cooking at a lower temperature and letting it bake longer.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 chicken boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 4 tablespoons pesto sauce
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter

PREPARATION

STEP 0: Preheat conventional oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit

STEP 1: Lightly oil your dutch oven

STEP 2: Place chicken breasts in bottom of your dutch oven

Dutch Oven Pesto Chicken Breast

STEP 3: Spread chicken with pesto sauce (OPTIONAL: sprinkle with freshly grated Parmesan cheese)

Dutch Oven Pesto Chicken Breast

STEP 4: Melt butter and mix with bread crumbs

Dutch Oven Pesto Chicken Breast

STEP 5: Sprinkle buttered breadcrumbs over chicken.

Dutch Oven Pesto Chicken Breast

STEP 6: Bake for 25 minutes at 350 degrees. Take out of conventional oven and let sit for 10-15 minutes with lid still on top to complete cooking.

Dutch Oven Pesto Chicken Breast

FEEDBACK

I’m soooooo happy with how this turned out. I don’t know what I was expecting… an explosion? Chicken burnt to the bottom of the dutch oven? The dutch oven melting? Who knows, but everything worked out perfectly. Cooking with a dutch oven is so easy and gives such juicy meats! Definitely going to find more dutch oven recipes in the future!!

Besides my excitement for my dutch oven, this pesto chicken was amazing. It turned out very tender and the breadcrumbs and pesto made an excellently flavorful topping. My fiancé and I split one chicken breast and had a side of white rice and steamed veges, which was more than enough for tonight. The breadcrumbs definitely help make the chicken a full meal in itself. We are both so stuffed!

Dutch Oven Pesto Chicken Breast

Leave a Reply

