Thoughts on Save the Dates

When I first started designing my Save the Dates, I got a lot of feedback from my family telling me that it’s a cute idea, but not necessary in this day and age with technology. It was suggested that I use some of our engagement photos to make an email image and send it out to all of our guests with an evite. I was definitely on the edge about this, especially since we are on a tight budget for the wedding and an evite would save us $100 or so, but I decided to go ahead and order the Save the Dates anyway.

I’m so glad I did. Something about getting a physical letter makes the wedding real, not only for our guests, but for us as well. When sending out the cards, it really helped things sink in and made me even more confident that I am making the right decision 🙂

I also received calls, emails, and messages on Facebook saying how impressed people were with the letters and how excited they are for the wedding. Just receiving that support meant a lot to me.

My suggestion is to spend the extra time and money on Save the Date cards. It’s definitely worth it and helps your guests make time for your wedding, especially if it’s on a holiday like ours. I’ve also noticed that many people keep these cards for a good amount of time. This is a chance to show off yourselves. Invitations don’t typically include a pictures and many guests won’t be able to take good pictures at the wedding. This is a good way to keep you two in your friends’ and families’ thoughts for years to come.

Good luck with planning and feel free to comment!

If you’d like to check out the site I used for Save the Dates go to WeddingPaperDivas – I ended up using Costco and getting an extra discount and the convenience of picking them up in-store.

Make time for two engagement photo sessions. The second time, you'll be a lot more confident and the photographer will capture more of your personalities.

Make time for two engagement photo sessions. The second time, you’ll be a lot more confident and the photographer will capture more of your personalities.

Leave a Reply

