Homemade Apple Sauce

Since my parent’s apple tree exploded with fruit this year, I was kindly given a large bag of apples to take home with me. I’ve never made homemade apple sauce so I figure I’d give it a shot!

My mom mentioned cooking the apples on the stove with sugar and cinnamon, so I found this recipe to go off of. It’s super simple!

Homemade Apple Sauce

Tons of off-the-tree apples! Remember to watch out for those worms and worm holes. If they’ve been in there, the apple is probably no longer good for apple sauce.

INGREDIENTS (I doubled this recipe)

  • 4 whole apples
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

PREPARATION

STEP 1: Core, peel, and slice apples.

I used my handy-dandy apple peeler corer slicer that my fiancé bought for me last year from OSH. This device works so well! Here’s a link to the apple peeler corer slicer from Amazon. I used the clamp style, but I’ve heard the suction cup works pretty well too.

Homemade Apple Sauce

The quick and easy way to core, peel, and slice your apples. Helps when making a double batch like I did.

STEP 2: In a saucepan, combine apples, water, sugar, and cinnamon.

Homemade Apple Sauce

Used a large sauce pan so that each apple curl could get even heat on the bottom.

STEP 3: Cover and cook over medium heat for 15-20 minutes, or until apples are soft.

Homemade Apple Sauce

Close to done. Added an extra 3 minutes on the stove to soften them up a bit more.

STEP 4: Allow to cool, then mash with a fork or potato masher.

Homemade Apple Sauce

Moved apple sauce from pan to baking dish to help it cool. Still needs to be mashed in this picture, but it’s pretty close to the way I like it 🙂

FEEDBACK

So simple, and such a delicious treat! Especially if you have tons of apples to spare. I’d suggest diminishing the amount of sugar to 1/8 cup if you’re watching sugars, but overall, this is suburb. I might just have to grab some more apples from my parents’ tree!

One thought on “Homemade Apple Sauce

  1. Pingback: Simple Delicious Apple Crisp | Notebook of a Wife's Life

Leave a Reply

